Home Cricket Featured Captaincy Record in the CPL

Captaincy Record in the CPL


As a captain in the CPL, who has played the most games? 

In the CPL, Kieron Pollard has led his team to 81 victories. Pollard began his career as captain of Barbados Trident in the inaugural season of the Caribbean Premier League in 2013, leading his side to the quarterfinals. As captain, Pollard led Barbados Trident to the championship the next season. Pollard led Barbados Trident until the CPL’s fifth season in 2017. For the sixth season of the CPL, Pollard transferred to St Lucia Zouks and was named captain of the team. Pollard was selected a Marquee Player and chosen captain of the Trinbago Knight Riders in the seventh season of the CPL. He was successful in leading his squad to the qualifiers. Pollard led his side to the CPL title in the eighth season of the competition in 2020.

Read More: Most Runs in CPL

YearTeamFinal Position
2013Barbados TridentSemifinals
2014Barbados TridentWinner
2015Barbados TridentRunner-up
2016Barbados Trident5th
2017Barbados Trident5th
2018St Lucia Zouks5th
2019Trinbago Knight RiderQualifier
2020Trinbago Knight RiderWinner

The greatest number of matches Kieron Pollard has played the most games in the CPL while serving as captain. He has led his team to 81 victories. Dwayne Bravo and Chris Gayle are tied for second place with 70 games played, followed by Darren Sammy’s 62 games as captain. Pollard has done a fantastic job in his new capacity. Pollard has been a captain since the start of the CPL in 2013, and he has captained different teams in different seasons. Pollard’s ability to lead from the front has aided him in handling the captaincy duties admirably. He has captained Barbados Trident, St Lucia Zouks, and Trinbago Knight Rider in 46, 10, and 20 matches, respectively. He has won 43 of the 81 matches he has played, with a success record of 55.06 percent.

Barbados Trident 2013-201746232201
St Lucia Zouks2018103611
Trinbago Knight Rider 2019-20202014500
TOTAL 2013-202081433512

The CPL’s most recent season, in 2020, saw Pollard’s Trinbago Knight Riders win every single match from the league stage through the championship. Pollard’s tactical captaincy is evident not only in the CPL but also in other leagues. He is the captain of the West Indies white-ball squad, as well as the vice-captain of the Mumbai Indians in the IPL and other T20 tournaments. Pollard became the first player to play 500 T20 matches in March 2020.

Kieron Pollard, as we all know, is one of the best T20 cricketers in the world, and he has proven it in several T20 tournaments, including the CPL. His CPL records are excellent. Along with his batting and fielding abilities, he has honed his captaincy capabilities. He is currently the captain of the CPL’s title-winning team, and he will undoubtedly be looking forward to his club’s continued success in the coming CPL season. 

Read More: CPL 2022 Schedule list

Most Matches as Captain

Kieron Pollard2013-20219249392255.55
(Barbados Tridents, St Lucia Stars, Trinbago Knight Riders)
Dwayne Bravo2013-20218051271165.18
(St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, Trinbago Knight Riders, Trinidad & Tobago Red Steel)
Chris Gayle2013-20217239310255.71
(Jamaica Tallawahs, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots)
Darren Sammy2013-20206223370238.33
(St Lucia Stars, St Lucia Zouks)
Jason Holder2018-20214315280034.88
(Barbados Royals, Barbados Tridents)
Marlon Samuels2013-2015267190026.92
(Antigua Hawksbills, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots)
RR Emrit2016-2020239130140.90
(Guyana Amazon Warriors, St Kitts and Nevis Patriots)
Rowman Powell2019-2021227140133.33
(Jamaica Tallawahs)
Dinesh Ramdin2014-2015211191054.76
(Guyana Amazon Warriors)
Faf Du Plesis2016-2021197120036.84
(St Kitts and Nevis Patriots, St Lucia Kings)
Shoaib Malik2018-2019171430082.35
(Guyana Amazon Warriors)
CJ Green2018-202015870053.33
(Guyana Amazon Warriors)
Martin Guptill2016-201714860057.14
(Guyana Amazon Warriors)
CR Braithwaite2019-201911461040.90
(St Kitts and Nevis Patriots)
N Pooran2021-202111551050.00
(Guyana Amazon Warriors)
AD Russell2018-201811650054.54
(Jamaica Tallawahs)
KC Sangakkara2017-201711650054.54
(Jamaica Tallawahs)
RR Sarwan2013-20139630066.66
(Guyana Amazon Warriors)
CAK Walton2019-20195230040.00
(Jamaica Tallawahs)
SR Watson2017-2017403010.00
(St Lucia Stars)
ADS Fletcher2021-20213120033.33
(St Lucia Kings)
Kevin Pietersen2015-20153120033.33
(St Lucia Zouks)

Captaincy Record in the CPL FAQs

  1. Who’s been the most successful captain in the history of the CPL?

Dwayne Bravo bags the honors with 51 wins in 80 games.

2. Who has captained a side for the most number of matches?

Kieron Pollard (92 games)

3. Which captain has failed to win a single game in the CPL?

Shane Watson

Other CPL Related Articles

  1. CPL t20 2022
  2. CPL Points Table
  3. CPL Points Table 2022
  4. CPL Full Schedule
  5. Caribbean Premier League Full Squad List
  6. CPL Scorecard
  7. Most Runs In CPL
  8. Top 6S In CPL
  9. Who hits more Fours In CPL
  10. CPL Teams 2022
  11. Highest Runs In CPL
  12. Top Worst Bowling Figures In CPL
  13. Top Successful Captains In CPL
  14. Top Highest Scores In Powerplay In CPL
  15. Best Batting Figures In CPL
  16. Best Economy Rate In CPL
  17. What are the 5 Highest Team Totals In CPL
  18. Most Number of CPL Matches As Captain
  19. Highest Strike Rates In CPL
  20. CPL Betting Tips
  21. CPL Full Form
  22. CPL Winners List
  23. Top Youngest Player in CPL
  24. Top Highest Individual Scores in CPL
  25. Top Players With Most Catches In the CPL
  26. Top lowest scores in CPL
  27. The 5 Highest and Lowest scores in CPL Powerplay
  28. Top 5 players having scored most half-centuries in CPL
  29. CPL Online Betting
  30. Top 50s in CPL