Explainer: “Six or out”, the catch that created a stir in the ongoing BBL

0
20

The Big Bash League’s outstanding fielding performance by Michael Neser at the boundary has been the talk of the day among cricket fans everywhere.

At the Gabba, Neser’s brilliant athleticism intercepted Jordan Silk’s attempt to clear long-off, allowing him to complete a juggling effort at the goal line.

Read more: BCCI issues guidelines to players ahead of IPL 2023

When Neser realized he would go over the boundary rope, he caught the ball and threw it up. Neser jumped perfectly from outside the line, palmed the ball within the line without touching the ground, and then made his way back into the play area to finish the catch.

The umpires ultimately decided it was a fair catch after reviewing the video, but confusion persisted among the players, pundits, and spectators.

Read more: BCCI’s new selection panel to take over from January 2023

What do these juggling catches above the boundary rope mean according to cricket law?

According to Law 19.5.2, a fielder who is not in contact with the ground is deemed to be grounded outside the boundary if his or her final contact with the ground, made before making contact for the first time with the ball after the bowler has delivered it, was not wholly within the boundary.

The batter was rightfully ruled out because Neser made initial touch with the ball, timed his jump, and successfully made the catch.

Read more: Australia seals series after innings victory against South Africa