Home Political BJP unveils list of 9 contenders for Tamil Nadu seats in the Lok Sabha elections.

BJP unveils list of 9 contenders for Tamil Nadu seats in the Lok Sabha elections.

BJP unveils list of 9 contenders for Tamil Nadu seats in the Lok Sabha elections.

On this Wednesday, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released its third list of Lok Sabha candidates with 9 candidates for Tamil Nadu.

BJP released another list of candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2024. This is the BJP’s third list for the parliamentary elections. The list includes the name of former Telangana Governor Tamilisai Soundararajan, who resigned on 18th March. With this, the BJP has fielded approximately 275 candidates for the elections so far. All of the candidates are from Tamil Nadu, a state where the BJP is trying hard to get more people to support them.

K Annamalai, the state unit chief, was picked as the candidate for the Coimbatore constituency, while union minister L Murugan was chosen by the Nilgiris. For the Chennai South Lok Sabha constituency, the former governor of Telangana Tamilisai Soundararajan is also nominated.

The ruling BJP’s third list includes names for nine seats in Tamil Nadu.

1. Chennai South: Tamilisai Soundararajan

2. Chennai Central – Vinoj P. Selvam

3. Vellore: A. C. Shanmugam

4. Krishnagiri, C. Narasimhan

5. L. Murugan (Nilgiris, SC)

6. Coimbatore, K. Annamalai

7. Perambalur – T.R. Parivendhar

8. Tirunelveli, Nainar Nagendran

9. Kanniyakumari, Pon. Radhakrishnan


Other candidates running in various constituencies include Vinoj P Selvam in Chennai Central, A C Shanmugam in Vellore, C Narasimhan in Krishnagiri, L Murugan in Nilgiris (SC), T R Parivendhar in Perambalur, Nainar Nagendran in Thoothukudi, and Pon. Radhakrishnan in Kanniyakumari.

The Second list of candidates was released on 13 March, which comprised three former Chief Ministers, nine Union Ministers, two Rajya Sabha MPs, and 15 women. The initial list of candidates, revealed on March 2, comprised 195 candidates, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi, 34 Union Ministers and Ministers of State, and two previous chief ministers.

Tamil Nadu Lok Sabha 2019 Election Results

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam-led alliance achieved a sweeping victory, capturing 38 out of 39 seats. The Congress, a key partner in the coalition, secured eight seats out of the nine it contested. 

Lok Sabha election in Tamil Nadu 2024 

All 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu will go to polls in a single phase on 19th April declared by the Election Commission of India, while the vote counting is slated for June 4th.

Stay informed about political affairs! Get real-time updates by clicking here.