Home CPL 2022 Guyana Amazon Warriors snatch first win of CPL 2022

Guyana Amazon Warriors snatch first win of CPL 2022

Guyana Amazon Warriors snatch first win of CPL 2022
CPL 2022: Guyana score win in front of home fans

Guyana Amazon Warriors snatched their first victory of the Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) 2022 in front of its home crowd, beating Saint Lucia Kings comprehensively by six wickets, who suffered their second straight defeat.

Read More: Jamaica Tallawahs beat Trinbago Knight Riders by 34 runs

Guyana Amazon Warriors had earlier won the toss and opted to field first. Saint Lucia Kings got off to a dream start, smashing 77-0 in the powerplay alone before spinners Imran Tahir and Tabraiz Shamsi slowed down their run rate significantly. Saint Lucia Kings were eventually restricted to 161 for seven with Johnson Charles carrying his bat with a superb 87 off just 59 balls.

Read More: Barbados register 4th straight CPL win; Patriots get first win

Saint Lucia Kings openers Charles and Faf du Plessis batted with flair to reach 77-0 after six overs, which incidentally is the highest powerplay score of the season so far. But Shamsi and Tahir slowed down the scoring rate picked up crucial wickets. Tim David hit 23 off 17 balls late in the innings, but Keemo Paul took two wickets in the final over while conceding just four runs, as Saint Lucia Kings finished at 161/7 after 20 overs.

Read More: Barbados beat St Lucia Kings; Patriots game abandoned

Guyana Amazon Warriors lost early wickets but Shimron Hetmyer and Heinrich Klaasen together built a 66-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Klaasen scored an exciting 61 from 46 balls as the Amazon Warriors reached their target with ten balls to spare and register their first win of the season. Chandrapaul Hemraj and Shai Hope were both dismissed with the score reading 37 while Colin Ingram was out soon enough, leaving them at 46 for three in the seventh over. It was then that Klaasen and Hetmeyer teamed up to stabilise the innings.

Read More: Top Successful Captains in CPL