Home Cricket Featured East Bengal Secure First Win

East Bengal Secure First Win

East Bengal Secure First Win

SC East Bengal registered their first win of the Indian Super League (ISL) as they beat Odisha FC 3-1 at the Tilak Maidan Stadium in Vasco.

Both sides created chances in the first half but it was SCEB who converted them and deservedly headed into the break with a two-goal cushion.

The opening goal arrived early in the 12th minute, through a set-piece. Gaikwad took a throw-in and directed it to the far post. It bounced once and fell to Pilkington, who rose above Gaurav Bora, before burying his header into the net.

Chances also fell Odisha’s way but stunning back-to-back saves from goalkeeper Debjit Majumder helped SCEB keep their lead intact during the first quarter. The custodian first parried away Manuel Onwu’s header and minutes later, denied Mauricio.

Jacques Maghoma then pushed the ball into the back of the net in the 39th minute to give SC East Bengal a 2-0 lead.

Odisha tried to comeback after the break, and came close to scoring twice but the woodwork prevented Onwu and Mauricio from finding the target within the first quarter of the second half.

East Bengal rebounded strongly and got its third in the 88th minute when its new signing and Nigeria striker, Bright Enobakhare, found the net off the very first opportunity coming his way.

Daniel Fox scored an own goal for his side in the additional minute of second half, but it turned out to be a mere consolation for Odisha FC.